June Reads

IMG_4682.JPG

The Dream Thieves – Maggie Stiefvater

This is the second book in The Raven Cycle series. I had heard from so many people that this was their favorite book in the whole series, but I just could not get into it! At about 75% of the way through the book, I couldn’t put it down, so it did get better. I am really enjoying this series, but I’m taking a little break from it – 2 more left! I don’t want to say much more about the book because I don’t want to give anything from the first one away!

So many of the world’s problems, he mused, were solved by sheer human decency.”

IMG_4024.jpg

The Wild Robot – Peter Brown

ADORABLE BOOK. The story was just so cute and heart-warming. There were really great illustrations that regularly made me smile. In The Wild Robot, a robot named Roz accidentally ends up on an island with no humans, only wildlife. This story is how she is trying to fit into this place that she just assumes is her home. Your kids will love this book, and if you don’t have kids, you will love it. 🙂 This is a sweet, light-hearted read that will leave you feeling all warm and fuzzy.

IMG_4265.jpg

The Lion, the Witch, and the WardrobePrince Caspian – C.S. Lewis

It is always an absolute delight to read these books. They are such powerful, beautiful stories. If you haven’t read these, READ THEM. If you have read them, maybe still read them again. Hehe.

Whether it was more like playing with a thunderstorm or playing with a kitten Lucy could never make up her mind.”

“But Edmund had got past thinking about himself after all he’d been through and after the talk he’d had that morning. He just went on looking at Aslan. IT didn’t seem to matter what the witch said.”

IMG_4091.jpg

IMG_4434.jpg

A Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab

I LOVED A Darker Shade of Magic. It is a really original concept full of everything I love in fiction – the 2 main things being magic and London (FOUR Londons). It was one of my favorite books I read this month and I’m definitely looking forward to reading the rest of the trilogy! (I’m going to wait to read the 2nd one until the 3rd one comes out, so I don’t have to wait..hehe.)

I’d rather die on an adventure than live standing still.”

IMG_4382.jpg

Paper Girls Vol. 1

This was a great, very weird graphic novel. I am quite interested in seeing where this story goes.

IMG_4151.jpg

How to be a Wildflower: A Field Guide – Katie Daisy

I thoroughly enjoyed every part of this book! This isn’t a novel, it’s basically just art and encouraging quotes and some cool little recipes. I looked through it in about 20 minutes and have already gone back to it a few times. It is a very pleasing, relaxing experience!

My soul is made of meadow flowers.”

IMG_4555.jpg

IMG_4549.jpg

A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro

This is a story of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson’s descendants. They are both in high school and Sherlock is a girl. I am sure you’re thinking, “Oh… sounds…cheesy.” This book could have just gone horribly wrong, but it was actually quite wonderful. I have never read the original Sherlock stories, so I do not have much to compare this to, besides the BBC show. But in my humble, not-so-informed opinion, Cavallaro knows what’s up.

IMG_4419.jpg

Egg & Spoon – Gregory Maguire

I have recently been intrigued by Russian folklore and just the general style of their buildings and decor, so Egg & Spoon was a fun world for me to be in and I really enjoyed it! It is a whimsical story full of magic and the difference between childhood and adulthood – which is always something I enjoy in a story.

“I don’t know what the crisis is, but have you ever noticed that the world can hardly fail to be beautiful even when it is falling apart?”

“So does the magic world tiptoe away from us while we quibble and fret.”

IMG_4537.jpg

The BFG – Roald Dahl

I had to pick this book up when I saw the trailer for the movie coming out on Friday! It. Was. So. Awesome. I read it in a few hours and basically smiled the whole time. Now to see the movie!

Yesterday, we was not believing in giants, was we? Just because we happen not to have actually seen something with our own two little winkles, we think it is not existing.”

IMG_4133.jpg

Mosquitoland – David Arnold

I absolutely LOVED Mosquitoland. I haven’t read a book that quickly in months. The main character, Mim, is feisty and unique and I would love to be her friend. Her road trip companions were beautiful souls who reminded me that people aren’t always what you initially think them to be – in the best way possible.

Mosquitoland is a story of heartbreak, adventure, friendship, and confronting really terrible situations. It discusses mental illness and abuse in a light, yet completely serious way. It puts you right in the midst of so much pain and suffering, while not at all being a “depressing” book. Also, it’s SO funny.

You should write. It’s better than succumbing to the madness of the world.”

“When you were born, you cried while the world rejoiced. Live your life so that when you die, the world cries while you rejoice.”

IMG_4656.JPG

Leave a Reply

