May Reads

IMG_4050.JPG

Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel

I would say that I’m almost done talking about this book, but that would be a lie. I want to talk about it all the time. Station Eleven opens at the start of a flu epidemic and weaves a story together by going back and forth in time in the lives of many different people, all surrounding the collapse of civilization. It is so wonderful and makes you appreciate all that we have in our lives today.

I believe the evening calls for fairies.”

“Because survival is insufficient.”

“Hell is the absence of the people you long for.”

IMG_3748.jpg
I want to live in this book cover

Pax – Sara Pennypacker

Pax is about a boy and his fox who get separated because there is a war that is making its way towards their home. Pax is the story of them trying to find each other again. It was a really great story, it is so cute! There are great illustrations and wonderful “life lessons” throughout it. It is labeled for ages 10-14, but don’t let that stop you from picking it up, especially if you love animals and feeling very emotional. 😛 (Like seriously, I was already tearing up in chapter 1.)

There is a disease that strikes foxes sometimes. It causes them to abandon their ways, to attack strangers. War is a human sickness like this.”

“The plain truth can be the hardest thing to see when it’s about yourself. If you don’t want to know the truth, you’ll do anything to disguise it.”

IMG_3510.jpg
Doesn’t it look so adorable!?

Uprooted – Naomi Novik

Uprooted takes place in a magical world full of scary beasts, an evil Wood, and some very lovable, sarcastic characters.

There is a mysterious wizard known as “the Dragon” who watches over a valley that is close to the corrupt Wood. His “payment” for protection is taking one girl every 10 years to serve him in his tower. Now this is not what you’re thinking, but that’s all I will say about it.

This book took me forever to get through. It is a sometimes-dense 435 page book, and SO much happens. I really enjoyed it though. The magic in Uprooted is so unique and beautiful and the evil monsters are also unique and quite terrifying. I wouldn’t recommend this book to everyone, but if you enjoy fantasy, magic, and weird things that you just have to accept and move on, you’d probably enjoy this! 🙂

Everyone says you love a Dragon-born girl differently as she gets older; you can’t help it, knowing you so easily might lose her.”

IMG_3282.jpg
Got a new dress, only reason I took the picture

The Giver – Lois Lowry

Most people have probably read The Giver and I’m upset at myself for waiting so long to read it! This was just a rich book. It was a quick read and was enjoyable from page 1. I have started to dog-ear pages that stand out to me and this book had an insane amount of folded pages:

IMG_3752.jpg
I just love how books look when you can tell they’re loved!

Honor. I have great honor. So will you. But you will find that that is not the same as power.”

“Although he had through the memories learned about the pain of loss and loneliness, now he gained, too, an understanding of solitude and its joy.”

IMG_3693.jpg

Dreamology – Lucy Keating

This was just a cute, girly book about a girl who has dreamed about a boy for most of her life and then meets him in real life. I liked it alright. It was a bit “fluffy,” especially after reading something like The Giver. But it was fun and I really liked some of the characters!

IMG_3644.jpg

The Wander Society – Keri Smith

This book had suuuuch potential to be amazing. I mean, I really did enjoy it. It made me think a lot about how much time I waste doing unimportant things and how much of this life I miss because I am just not aware of my surroundings. I liked about 70% of the book. There were a few things I didn’t agree with and it was pretty cheesy at times, but it really is such a cool book. It is put together so beautifully. There are tons of pictures throughout it and the pages are so expensive feeling too, hehe. I do recommend The Wander Society, but there will probably be a few times where you’re like, “nope.” But it really is an enjoyable read.

Solvitur ambulando.”

“It is easy for us to get caught up in this world and its flashiness, but it does not fulfill us on a deep level. Our interest in it is fleeting.”

“When we repeat the same activities day in and day out, we limit our ability to have new experiences.”

IMG_3471.jpg
See? It’s so cool looking!!

The Invisible Library – Genevieve Cogman

This. Book. Was. Awe. Some. I was sent this book to read and review and boy, I was not disappointed. I will be doing a full review on it in the next few days, but I will leave you with just a few hints… TIME. TRAVELING. LIBRARIANS.

Being chased by hellhounds and blowing things up were comparatively unimportant parts of the job. Getting the books- now, that was what really mattered to her.”

“We may collect fiction, but we are not required to imitate the stupider parts of it.”

IMG_3927.JPG
*heart eyes*

The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys is the first book in a series of 4 titled The Raven Cycle. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I loved this book. It is very paranormal and a bit spooky, and I don’t normally like that kind of thing. But daaaang, this book was good. I plan on reading the rest of the series ASAP. (I already bought the rest, hehe.)

Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.” (Opening line)

“When she looked at the stars, something tugged at her, something that urged her to see more than stars, to makes sense of the chaotic firmament, to pull and image from it.”

IMG_3815.jpg

Other things and stuff

I ordered my first book subscription box and it was so fun! Most of the book boxes out there include a bunch of different bookish goodies and just stuff. I have so much stuff, too much stuff, in my life. So, I decided to go for a box that was just simple – Parnassus Next. It was so fun to get and I can’t wait until I get my June box! 🙂

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Also, I’m just still not over these:

IMG_3511.jpg
SO PRETTY

Thanks for reading! 🙂

One thought on “May Reads

Leave a Reply

