April: Week 3

Ahhh, another week closer to graduation and another week full of books! (and homework) Here’s a bit of a breakdown of what I’ve been reading this week!

It’s Kind of a Funny Story – Ned Vizzini

I finished this book early in the week and loved it. I’ve posted so much about this book lately – It’s wonderful! Check out my review if you want to hear more!IMG_2752.JPG

The Lost Hero – Rick Riordan

I just loved the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series and was so excited to continue on in Percy’s adventures! I’m reading this with my friend, Gaby, at the moment and it’s been so fun! It’s a nice, lighthearted story to read as I draw nearer to finals. O_O I’m loving all the new characters and am looking forward to figuring out some very, very confusing things…IMG_2944.JPG

Believarexic – J.J. Johnson

I received an Advanced Reader’s Copy of this book earlier in the week and it’s a super gripping story. I read the first little bit (like 5%), and then the next day it was all I could think about. It’s about a girl in the 80s (I believe it’s actually the author’s true story) who has anorexia and bulimia and is hospitalized for it. It is so interesting to read about this in a decade previous to our own because it is just handled so differently than now. Now, we talk about this kind of thing and urge people to get help, but it is so different in this book – especially compared to It’s Kind of a Funny Story where he had so much support from his family.

Believarexic comes out in October and will definitely be worth checking out! I’ll put up a review once I’ve finished it 🙂

IMG_2775.JPG
(it’s on the iPad and taking pictures of iPads is hard)

Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel

This book has been my favorite book since I read it at the beginning of the year! IT’S. SO. GOOD. I started rereading it last night and am already almost 100 pages in. It’s just so lovely and beautiful and wonderful and magical. Station Eleven is one of those books that I’m afraid to have anyone else read because I want them to like it so bad. Hehe. I JUST LOVE IT.

So I’m rereading it and will do a review on it as well because more people need to read it! It’s such a unique book, it’s the reason I started reading graphic novels and the reason I now want to read Shakespeare… yeah, weird, right?

IMG_2940.JPG
AND IT’S SO PRETTY

Other Bookish News

I have bought a few books this week… oops… But I just had to show the prettiest one:

IMG_2897.JPG
So. Pre. Tty.

Also, on my book instagram, @mycatandmybooks, I am hosting a giveaway!! They are children’s/middle grade books because that genre is near and dear to my heart. Y’all should enter and win some adorably awesome books! 😀 There are 3 books, but 2 of them are hidden 🙂 The rules are on my instagram post, super easy to enter!

IMG_2926-1.JPG
SO CUTE

That’s all for now! I hope to get through all these books before the end of April… but it seems highly unlikely. We’ll see!

-CASI

Leave a Reply

