April: Week 2

April has been a slow moving month as far as reading goes. I typically read really easy books, but this month, I’ve read some beastly books. (Beastly is not negative in this scenario.) I normally have read like 5-6 books by this point in the month, but I’ve only read 3! Who am I!? Also, reading beastly books in my last month of college was like not a smart idea at all.

Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

I’m still on this book, but that’s understandable. My book club is reading this, but I think I might put it away until after I graduate. It’s a really, really wonderful book and I can’t wait to finish it, I just don’t have the time to put towards it right now. 😦 BOO

IMG_2720.JPG

Kindred Spirits – Rainbow Rowell

This book was wonderful. I read it in about an hour (62 pages long). Rainbow Rowell always makes such lovable characters. It’s a bummer that it was so short! I want more of Gabe and Elena.

I realized something about Rainbow’s books. She’s doesn’t usually make despicable villains – except for Eleanor’s stepdad from Eleanor & Park. He was awful. I haven’t read Attachments yet, but I’ve read the rest of them and I’m pretty sure almost all of the people in her books are good people, especially the young people. There have been characters that you think you’re going to hate, and then they end up having good in them. That feels so hopeful to me. There is good in people, and especially if you’re young, you have the chance to really set the pace for the rest of your life in how you treat people. I want to explore this aspect of her books a bit more, but I need to read them again with my focus more on this idea. But I can see Rainbow has faith in people and I appreciate that.

IMG_2555.JPG
Huck fell asleep reading it :/

It’s Kind of a Funny Story – Ned Vizzini

THIS. BOOK. I have 150 pages left and I am learning so much. It’s Kind of a Funny Story is about a high schooler suffering intensely from depression and ends up going to a mental hospital after he almost kills himself. It is told in first person so you’re in the head of this guy and it is so powerful. I know there isn’t any way for me to completely understand depression, but this book is so helpful.

Ned Vizzini himself spent time in a mental hospital and wrote this book days after he got out. This book holds so much weight because Vizzini battled depression and took his own life about two years ago. I want to tell everyone to read this book because it makes depression a bit more understandable for those who have never suffered from it. I know there are many people that don’t “get” it, many people that don’t think it is “real” and that people are just “really sad.” If you are that person, read this. It’s important.

Do your research on things you don’t understand.

And don’t think this book is going to be a drag. One of the reviews says – “A book about depression that’s not the least bit depressing.” And I agree with it completely.

I will be doing a full post on It’s Kind of a Funny Story once I’m done!

IMG_2676.JPG
This is available for pretty cheap at Target!

The obligatory book rant:

I have done a lot of book shopping this week. OOOOOPS. I am working on collecting A Series of Unfortunate Events from used bookstores like I did with Harry Potter hard covers. It’s so fun to do!! I’m making pretty good progress with A Series of Unfortunate Events and I only have Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Prince Caspian from The Chronicles of Narnia left to find! I see a lot of Narnia books, but I haven’t seen a Prince Caspian one that matches the rest of the editions I have. It’s a fun little treasure hunt. 🙂

IMG_2665.JPG
They’re so pretty together!
IMG_2745.JPG
I got a few other too, oops!

And I got this adorable book, Pax. I can already tell that it is going to be an emotional book. 😥 Can’t wait! hehe

IMG_2713.JPG

I also re-organized my shelves (and bought one new one) yesterday! My downstairs is just full of books right now and it’s glorious! I love re-organizing my books.

IMG_2693.JPG
The middle of the process
IMG_2732.JPG
AFTER! It’s impossible to get a picture of the whole set up because of how skinny the room is. But you get a nice view of my microwave there on the right 🙂

That’s all for now, thanks for reading! 🙂

-CASI

Leave a Reply

