A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray (& some other stuff)

So, I was going to call this a “review”, but it’s just going to be more of a gush, gushing about how cool this book is. I really loved it. I even had dreams about it last night! It’s such an exciting and heartwarming (sometimes) book.

If you haven’t heard of this book, I am going to give my own short description (because the description on the book annoyingly gives so much away.) Marguerite Caine’s parents are physicists and design a device, the Firebird, that allows them to travel to alternate dimensions. Marguerite’s father is murdered and the evidence points to their research assistant, Paul, who has fled to another dimension. Marguerite and the other research assistant, Theo, follow him to avenge her father. She gets to see all these different lives that “she” is living and there’s adventure in all of them. And there’s love. And there are jokes. And there is art. And there is history – kinda.

It’s just fun!

I would love to review it completely in depth, but I really hate spoilers and would absolutely hate to spoil it for someone else – if you’ve read it, please talk to me about it 😛

A few quotes:

Before now I never understood how beautiful the ordinary can be.”

“He deserves better than this. But ‘deserves’ doesn’t have a lot to do with falling in love.”

“They say ‘time heals,’ but even now, less than a week after my father’s death, I know that’s a lie. What people really mean is that eventually you’ll get used to the pain. You’ll forget who you were without it; you’ll forget what you looked like without your scars.”

A Thousand Pieces of You was a quick, easy read. It had me laughing out loud, gasping from time to time, and occasionally saying “Awwwwwwwwwww.” There are a few plot twists (which I totally called a few pages before, not to brag. heh)

Soon I will read the 2nd in the series, Ten Thousand Skies Above You! (I want to get a little further into Outlander first. That book is a beast.)

IMG_2475.JPG
One last picture of this beauty (til my “What I Read in April” post 🙂 (also, check out VAS. They’re incredible.)
IMG_2524.JPG
And the 2nd one. ugh i wanna frame these.

& the other stuff

I recently received a copy of Rainbow Rowell’s short story Kindred Spirits that she wrote for World Book Day. It’s all about waiting in line to see the new Star Wars movie and I’m really excited to read it because I love Rainbow Rowell. Kindred Spirits is the last book I have to read of hers besides Attachments which is oddly difficult to come by. It’s only about 60 pages, so it’s what I’ll read now that I only have Outlander. (Who am I kidding, I’ll probably start another random book tonight – too many books to read!!)

IMG_2106.jpg
we’re pretending that this wasn’t taken on a bathroom floor

I actually forgot what books I put on my reading list for April, so I had to go back and look. I put The Lola Quartet by Emily St. John Mandel and I just don’t think I will get to it. 😦 I’ve read so many “heavy” or “deep” books lately, I feel like I need to read some easy stuff until I graduate – and April is almost half way over?! I don’t understand!!

As I mentioned, I’m about to graduate and I have gotten so behind on schoolwork. I have no classes on Wednesdays, so I worked all day on different papers. This is what my day looked like:

IMG_2536.JPG
Stressful, but beautiful (notice my Doctor Who sticky notes? hehe)

Well, I hope you enjoyed my rambling – I should probably plan out my blog posts a little better, but then it’s just not as fun! 🙂

-CASI

One thought on “A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray (& some other stuff)

Leave a Reply

