March Reads

Hi! I am trying to start posting more often on here as an excuse to make myself write more. So, I thought it would be an easy monthly blog post to write a quick little bit about the books I read during the month – and also to share some of the pictures I’ve taken of said books for my book instagram!

I did not think I would get quite as much read as I usually do since I had my senior recital, but I surprised myself! (I think spring break helped.) This was a good month of reading, most of these books were just incredible! Here are the beauties:

IMG_2059.JPG
PURE. BEAUTY. *heart eyes*

The Last Olympian – Rick Riordan

This was the last book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. It was SO. FUN. Not many books make me laugh out loud, but this whole series did that. This was my first time reading the series – I have only been really into reading for about a year now, so I’m playing a big game of catch up. But who’s to say when one is too old to read middle grade books?! NEVER! (This is one of three middle grade books I read this month, heh.) I’m looking forward to reading the next series The Heroes of Olympus!

IMG_1617.jpg
Had to put my cup in there because Starbucks

We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

This book messed with my mind. o_O I love books with a weird twist, but this one was just… woah. It was such an easy read though, I read it in one sitting! If you like emotionally devastating books, I recommend this one. 🙂

IMG_1665.jpg
It looks cheery, but don’t let it fool you #soulcrushing

The Love That Split the World – Emily Henry

THIS. BOOK. This has been the best book I’ve read all year! (Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is the only close contender.) As cheesy as this is going to sound, I felt the love of the Lord throughout this whole book. It was just… beautiful. I cried and cried at the end because I love Jesus so much and He loves me even more. *cries again*

TLTSTW also put a huge emphasis on stories, and obviously I love stories. Stories are so important in this world, we can learn so much and must take the time to hear people’s stories. Oh, and tell your own story too! 🙂

This is Emily Henry’s first book that just came out in January and there’s already talks of a movie. Like, I’m telling you, it’s good. (This book encouraged me to start writing in my books again and underlining great stuff, so now there will start being quotes that stood out to me from some of these books.)

READ THIS BOOK

Some quotes from The Love That Split the World:

Worthiness isn’t a factor in whether we’re alive or loved.”

“There’s little to fear when you love. There’s nothing to fear when you are loved.”

“For you, my beloved, I would fix the whole world.”

IMG_1648.jpg
OH AND THE COVER IS SO PRETTY
IMG_1694.jpg
Another because it’s that pretty

Nightmares! The Sleepwalker Tonic – Jason Segel & Kirsten Miller

ATTENTION: JASON SEGEL WROTE A CHILDREN’S BOOK SERIES!

love How I Met Your Mother (currently watching it while I type this), so I was ecstatic to see that Jason Segel wrote 2 books – the 3rd and final installment comes out in September! (This is the 2nd one)

Nightmares! is a fun, hilarious series about facing your fears and being brave that regularly made me laugh out loud. And there’s pictures in it! If my future children are anything like I was and regularly have bad dreams, I will want them to read this series. It made me, as a 23-year-old woman, feel braver. 😛

IMG_1390.jpg

IMG_1725.jpg
Heh.

Glass Sword – Victoria Aveyard

This is the second book in the Red Queen series. It took me over a month to read, but it ended up being really, really awesome! I think it took forever to read because it was just a lot of slow build-up, but the next book will be awesome because of it!

IMG_1673.jpg
#blueberrycakedonuts

IMG_1785.jpg

 

The Mysterious Benedict Society – Trenton Lee Stewart

This is another children’s book and it was so fun! It was adventurous and so funny. There’s three more in the series that I will definitely get to eventually. Reading children’s books is a nice break between heavy books. I probably should have read one after reading We Were Liars

 

IMG_1756.jpg
dream home

 

The Crane Wife – Patrick Ness

The Crane Wife is a novel based on an old Japanese folktale. It was so weird, but beautiful. It was a very deep, symbolic book… I think… I read it too quickly and I’m sure I missed some stuff. I’m definitely going to read this one again some day so I can understand it a bit better!

This, I will never understand, the inability of people to see themselves clearly. To see what they are actually like, not what they fear they are like or they wish to be like, but what they actually are. Why is what you are never enough for you?”

IMG_1801.jpg
Also such a pretty cover.

Wink Poppy Midnight – April Genevieve Tucholke

This book has literally the prettiest cover I have ever seen. This book also messed with my mind… It was very strange, but very intriguing! I had seen it compared to We Were Liars and I maybe should have spaced them out a bit.. It was so beautifully written though, I really enjoyed it.

Eventually I realized that the reason I felt so peaceful was because Wink wasn’t taking stock. She wasn’t trying to figure out if I was sexy, or cool, or funny, or popular. She just stood in front of me and let me keep on being whoever I really was. And no one had ever done that for me before…”

IMG_1917.jpg
SO BEAUTIFUL I’M GONNA DIE

The Year of Magical Thinking – Joan Didion

This is my only nonfiction read of the month. I’ve challenged myself to read at least one nonfiction book a month and I really enjoyed this one, so I’m excited for this challenge. It was heartbreaking and such a raw, honest picture of grief and loss. It is so interesting to read about other people’s stories and Joan Didion’s was definitely one worth reading.

In The Year of Magical Thinking, Didion tells the story of the year following her husband’s sudden death. It is beautiful to read how much she loved him and hear all of the stories that came to her mind during this time. She’s a strong, eloquent lady. I will be looking into more of her and her husband’s books for sure.

[We cannot] know ahead of the fact (and here lies the heart of the difference between grief as we imagine it and grief as it is) the unending absence that follows, the void, the very opposite of meaning, the relentless succession of moments during which we will confront the experience of meaninglessness itself.”

“‘You can love more than one person.’ Of course you can, but marriage is something different. Marriage is memory, marriage is time. Marriage is not only time: it is also paradoxically, the denial of time. For forty years I saw myself through John’s eyes. I did not age.”

IMG_1832.jpg

 The Serpent King – Jeff Zentner

This is another debut novel – I love reading an author’s first book. It feels like a monumental moment that I get to take part in.

This is kind of a “coming-of-age” story. It was a very endearing and, again, heartbreaking. (I’m sensing a theme.) I really, really enjoyed this one and will be looking out for more from Zentner!

People live quiet lives and that’s okay. There’s dignity in that, no matter what you may think.”

IMG_1952.JPG
Huck ❤

The Kiss of Deception – Mary E. Pearson

This book was recommended to me by my lovely cousin, Lexi. And woah – plot. twist. Don’t let the title of this book fool you, it is really awesome and not girly, I promise. It was fun delving into a new fantasy world and learning all the rules and history of it. There are two more books in The Remnant Chronicles and I can’t wait to get to them!

IMG_1965.JPG

The End

Wow. This was so much longer than I thought it would be. But I had so much fun.

At the end of March, I have read 34 books towards my 2016 reading goal of 65. I’m shocked at how fast I’ve gotten to 34, but it’ll all begin to even out once I really get into The Lord of the Rings and maybe the Outlander series. Those are some hefty books.

Also, Memphis friends, if you want to borrow any of these, please do! Your payment will be to talk to me about the book. You have to tell me everything you felt, what parts made you cry, who your favorite character was, etc. 🙂

If you’ve made it to the end of this, thank you for reading!

-CASI

2 thoughts on “March Reads

Leave a Reply

